Stone Roses War & Peace author book signing

Author and journalist, Simon Spence promotes the release of his new book, The Stone Roses: War and Peace at hmv’s Market Street store in Manchester on Friday 29th June.

Simon, who reviewed 1990’s Spike Island for Face magazine, will be at the store from 1.00 pm to meet fans and sign copies of the new book which is published through Penguin.

The Stone Roses: War and Peace is based on 400 hours of interviews with over seventy of The Stone Roses’ closest associates, including six former band members.

The book traces the band’s genesis, studded with violent gigs and abandoned recordings, and shaped by their infamous manager Gareth Evans. The Roses’ legendary gigs culminated in the era-defining Spike Island show in 1990, yet from this pinnacle the unravelling was spectacular.

With the band refusing to play in America, arrested for vandalizing a record company and dragged through the High Court, the epic recording of their dark second album is the stuff of legend.

They disbanded in turmoil in 1996.

Simon Spence will be at hmv Manchester, Market Street - Friday 29th June 2012 at 1.00 pm.

Stone Roses return to the stage in Sweden

The Stone Roses returned to the stage last night in Sweden as they played the Hultsfredsfestivalen. Unusually the band opened their performance with Love Spreads and went on to play a full 14 song set.

The Stone Roses setlist at Hultsfredsfestivalen 2012

  1. Love Spreads
  2. I Wanna Be Adored
  3. Made Of Stone
  4. Standing Here
  5. Ten Storey Love Song
  6. Where Angels Play
  7. Shoot You Down
  8. Fools Gold
  9. Something’s Burning
  10. Waterfall
  11. Don’t Stop
  12. This Is the One
  13. She Bangs The Drums
  14. I Am The Resurrection