Spike Island ’90

City: Widnes, England
Date: 27th May 1990

Format(s): CD, Tape

Running Time (Approx): 70 mins


  1. Intro
  2. I Wanna Be Adored
  3. Elephant Stone
  4. She Bangs The Drums
  5. One Love
  6. Sally Cinnamon
  7. Sugar Spun Sister
  8. Standing Here
  9. Fools Gold
  10. Where Angels Play
  11. Don’t Stop
  12. Something’s Burning
  13. Made Of Stone
  14. Elizabeth My Dear
  15. I Am The Resurrection

Sound Quality: B
Drums are too high in the mix, and vocals are lost a few times. Sound is a bit weak, but there is no distortion, and it sounds close and clear.

Performance Quality: C
The Roses sound quite nervous and are not as outgoing as they usually were, just going into autopilot. The fact that Elizabeth My Dear is my favourite performance says it all. That song sounds brilliant at the setting though, Ian Brown’s voice just echoing out over 30,000 people, with Squire’s chilling guitar backing him up.

Why should I get this bootleg?

Not for the music really, but for the fact that it was the biggest Roses event ever. Having the fireworks on the end of the recording is a nice touch.

Fan Reviews

“A lot better than you make out!” – Peter Hancox, England

“The musicians sound nervous. The quality’s clear but a little hollow. Fools Gold is fantastic. Despite its bad points, the fact that it’s Spike Island makes it worth having.” – Ben Cohen, England

“On the whole I don’t think they really did their songs justice, Elephant Stone and She Bangs the Drums especially were a bit disappointing, but having said that, I thought One Love and Something’s Burning stood out, even though they’re not my favourite Roses songs. I liked the intro to the CD as well.” – Emma Harper, England

One thought on “Spike Island ’90”

  1. I would love to get a copy of this concert I went to back on ‘Sunset Sunday’. Any help on how I could get it? thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *